No East Anglian charters (or other documents) have survived to modern times; though other mediaeval chronicles that refer to the East Angles are treated with great caution by scholars. This was due to the complete destruction of the kingdom’s monasteries and the disappearance of the two East Anglian sees as the result of Viking raids and settlement. The principal documentary source for the early period of the kingdom’s history is the Ecclesiastical History of the English People, written by Bede in the eighth century. East Anglia is first mentioned as a distinct political unit in the Tribal Hidage, which is thought to have been compiled somewhere in England during the seventh century. Other Anglo-Saxon sources containing information about the kingdom of East Anglia are the Anglo-Saxon Chronicles (commissioned in the reign of Alfred the Great), Historia Brittonum (The History of the Britons) attributed to Nennius and Life of Foillan, a seventh century Irish Saint. After the occupation of the vikings, the Kingdom of East Anglia became a principality of the Kingdom of Wessex. They eventually amalgamated into the other Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms and henceforth became known as the Kingdom of England, ruled by a Wessex Monarch.

Kingdom of East Anglia Monarchs
Reign: A.D
Possible ruler; “The first to rule over the East Angles”, according to Nennius.
571 (origin is from unknown annal)
Possible ruler; son of Wehha and the king after whom the Wuffingas dynasty is named.
578 (origin is from unknown annal)
Possible ruler; son of ‘Uffa’ (Wuffa); acceded in 578, according to the Flores Historiarum.
c. 599 to c. 624.
Son of Tytila; named imperium by Bede, later interpreted as Bretwalda. The Flores Historiarum gives 599 for Rædwald’s accession. Rædwald is the first of the Wuffingas of which more than a name is known and is the first East Anglian king to convert to christianity.
c. 624 to c. 627 or 628
Son of Rædwald; murdered by Ricberht. First king to be killed of his christian faith.
Unknown but is more likely to be a pagan noble
c. 627 to c. 630
Possible ruler of 3 years.
c. 630 to c. 634
He was the first English king to receive a Christian baptism. Eventually abdicated to lead a monastic life; later slain in battle.
c. 630 to c. 636 (ruled jointly with Sigeberht until c. 634)
Slain in battle, possibly as late as 641; kinsman of Sigeberht.
c. 636 or early 640s to c. 653
Nephew of Rædwald and son of Eni; killed, according to the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle.
c. 653 to 655
Brother of Anna. Slain at the Battle of the Winwaed. (second son of Eni)
c. 655 to 663
Brother of Anna. (third son of Eni)
663 to c. 713
Nephew of Anna, Æthelhere and Æthelwold; Son of Æthilric.
713 to 749
Son of Ealdwulf. Last king of the Wuffingas dynasty.
East Anglian Dynasty
Beonna crowned in 749 and around 760 jointly wilt Alberht and possibly Hun
Beonna, Alberht and possibly Hun
Joint kings, of unknown origin. Alberht is also known as Æthelberht I. Nothing is known of Hun.
East Anglian Dynasty
Æthelred I
Possibly succeeded Beonna; sub-king to Offa of Mercia. Father of Æthelberht II.
East Anglian Dynasty
779? to 794
Æthelberht II
The ability of Æthelberht to mint his own coins suggest East Anglia was a independent kingdom. Executed at the command of Offa and was subsequently canonised.
Iclingas Dynasty (Mercian)
Ruled Mercia from 757 to July 796; jointly ruled with his son Ecgfrith from 787 (who succeeded him and died after ruling for less than five months). Held dominion over the East Angles.
East Anglian Dynasty
c. 796 to c. 798
Ancestry unknown; emerged as king during a period of instability following the death of Offa.
C-dynasty (Mercian)
Ruled Mercia from 796 to 821: held dominion over the East Angles after Eadwald’s brief reign; no precise date is known for the start of his overlordship in East Anglia.
C-dynasty (Mercian)
Brother of Coenwulf; ruled Mercia from 821 to 823. Deposed by Beornwulf.
B-dynasty (Mercian)
Of unknown origin; Ruled Mercia from 823. to 826; killed during an East Anglian revolt.
East Anglian Dynasty
827 to c. 846
May have led a revolt against the Mercians in 825. East Anglian independence re-established at his accession.
East Anglian Dynasty
c. 846 to 854
Surviving coinage suggests that he was the ruler of an independent East Anglai and not subjected to Merica or Wessex.
East Anglian Dynasty
855 (traditonally) to 869
Edmund (Eadmund)
The last native East Anglian king; acceded at the age of 14 (according to Asser); killed by the Vikings 20 November 869; canonised. Political organisation of East Anglia following the death of Edmund is uncertain.
Kings under Norse suzerainty
c. 870’s
Sub-king, known only from numismatic evidence.
Kings under Norse suzerainty
c. 870’s
Æthelred II
Sub-king, known only from numismatic evidence.
Danish Kingdom of East Anglia
c. 879 to 890
East Anglia was awarded to him in 879 as part of a peace settlement with Alfred the Great of Wessex.
Danish Kingdom of East Anglia
Ruled until 902
Killed in battle (along with Æthelwold) in December 902.
House of Wessex
Sub-king of the Danes; killed in battle December 902. Is Alfred the Great’s Nephew, had claimed the Wessex throne after Alfred’s death.
Danish Kingdom of East Anglia
902 to 918
Guthrum II
Killed in battle 918.